Whoooooooshh

*cough cough* Excuse the hacking, that’s just me blowing the dust off this blog. I feel like blogging isn’t really a “thing” anymore but I miss it and I know that some day I will want a more permanent recollection of this stage of my life so that’s why I’ve made one of my goals for 2019 to write a post at least once a month. We’ll see how long it lasts :-).

As I look back on this past year, I feel incredibly blessed. God has reminded me frequently about how fortunate I am to get to stay home with my two kids. Yes, they drive me nuts sometimes and yes, there are many many days with crying and yelling (by everyone) but mostly I’m so happy I could burst. Today was one of those days. Judah and Ella had to eat leftover dinner for breakfast and I wasn’t looking forward to what I was sure was going to be a battle. Turned out to be not such a big deal and we got into the car to get a free Panera bagel (my New Year’s goals have nothing to do with carbs). On this rainy day, we got behind a school bus while leaving our neighborhood and I was thinking about how instead of having to go back to teaching other people’s children when everyone is feeling rather flat of the holidays… I get to have a bagel with my babies.

Another reason why I wanted to revive the ol’ blog is because we have started doing homeschool preschool with Judah and a few months ago I realized that I want to homeschool for elementary school too. This is a strange journey for me because I’ve all along sworn that I would not, could not, homeschool my children. Many people assumed I would since I was a teacher but it had absolutely not appeal to me. Zero. Then one day I was scrolling through Pinterest (because SAHM life does have perks) and I saw a random article about Unschooling. I had never heard of this before and I think on some professional level I was intrigued by this thing that seems so crazy šŸ˜€ But, for whatever reason, these articles got me thinking about what homeschooling could really look like and I started picturing it for our family. Add to that how much I was enjoying preschool at home and all the benefits of homeschooling I’d always heard rattled off started to make sense. We landed on the classical model (a far, far cry from the Unschooling articles that originally reeled me in). Classical Conversations is the largest homeschool co-op in our area plus, as I read through various books and articles on the philosophy, it seemed to fit our family well. So Judah and I (and Ella and Josh) will be starting kindergarten next year, a year “early”! I’m sure I will write about this lots more as we begin this journey.

Speaking of journeys, in the last year and a half Josh has taken up running with a great amount of enthusiasm. I’m just trying to keep up (literally and figuratively). But this has been a fun change for our family as it is something we can all enjoy and of course, the health benefits are nice too. One of my other goals for 2019 is to run more so I’m sure that will receive more posts in the coming months as well.

Leave a comment