12 Weeks

Bet you can’t tell there’s 3 people in this picture!

Yep, it’s true – we’re going to have a baby! We couldn’t be more excited. Especially as everyone else we know is pregnant and, being the extroverts that we are, we didn’t want to be left out! (jk, jk… but seriously, everyone is pregnant around here)

Four out of the six ladies in my small group. It’s been a long winter 😉

The day I found out I was pregnant was quite epic. 1) Because I didn’t really think I was pregnant and Josh was away on business for a week 2) Because my lovely, warm North Carolina got about six inches of snow. I found out I was pregnant and knew right away how I wanted to tell Josh and needed to get a book which, of course, they didn’t carry in Greenville. I knew it was supposed to snow but I figured I could get to Raleigh and back before it got bad. Wrong. Getting there was fine and yes, I managed to get the book. And then it took me over 6 hours to get home (on a normally 1.5 hour drive).

And apparently, Baby Mo loves snow and ice because the day we told our parents we decided to drive out Rocky Mount (an hour away) in an ice storm! I am very thankful to have had safe trips but seriously – I guess this kid has some true Yankee blood!

The first trimester is nearly behind me and I am very thankful. Although it may cause women worldwide to hate me, I really didn’t have a bad first trimester. Seriously, I didn’t get sick even one time and except for the occasional “I just don’t want to eat anything” feelings at night, I could hardly tell I was pregnant!

I’m going to try and keep things updated here in a format that I totally stole from one of my favorite blogs Tales of Life, Love, and Ice Cream

Total Weight Gain: As of my last appointment 2 weeks ago, I hadn’t gained any weight – I’m sure that will change soon (and may have already, I’m just avoiding the scale)

Baby’s Heart Rate: 170 bpm again at last appointment. I googled it (of course) and that’s a nice strong heart rate!

Biggest Craving this week: Probably the Milk Duds and Coke I had on Sunday. Normally, I don’t have much of a sweet tooth and would rather have a handful of chips. Or a steak. But lately I can’t seem to get enough of them!

Energy Level: Just about back to normal. During the first trimester I could barely stay awake until Josh got home (which is late because of tax season anyway) and definitely not if I didn’t get a nap in first. This past week though, I have been back to normal (with no naps!)

How clothes fit: For the most part I can still wear my normal clothes, though I did cave and buy my first pair of maternity jeans last week – Old Navy brand for $3.63! – because my jeans were no longer comfortable. I also have a belly band (think the bottom half of a tank top) and that seems to be getting me through my tighter work pants.

Movement: None yet though it should only be a few more weeks until I can feel him (or her) swimming around in there!

Next Doctor’s Appointment: Not really sure at this point. Josh and I decided to go with the birthing center in Chapel Hill (which will probably be a separate post) so we’re waiting for them to review our records and set up an appointment. Hopefully the week after Easter!

Looking Forward to: The end of tax season and the birth of my nephew Mason in just one week!

2 thoughts on “12 Weeks

  1. This makes me so happy! You guys are going to be great parents! I’m SO excited to hear all about the Birthing Center! I went to one here when I was pregnant with Owen, but it ended up not working out financially (my insurance hated the idea) and it turned out O wouldn’t have been a good pregnancy for it anyways (too many unknowns). But I was pretty bummed about it for awhile!!

    Oh and p.s.
    I’ve been on my couch gagging all.day.long. but since you’re my friend and you have to work full time, I won’t be bitter that you had such an awesome 1st trimester….:P

    • Haha thanks Laci! And plenty of other moms have let me know that while it’s great for me, there’s a great karmic balance to be worked out so the baby will puke all the time, or be colickly, or something like that 😛 Hey, I’ll take it!

Leave a comment